Star Trek: Picard Season 1 Review

While it has taken me some time to get round to watching Star Trek: Picard, I have done well to avoid any and all spoilers. Very well indeed. With that said, I will keep this review entirely free of any narrative based spoilers. What we all know, and what I knew going into this was that Jean-Luc Picard (Patrick Stewart) has returned. Returned where though? to Starfleet? to the Enterprise? Well, all that is to be seen. What is important is that he has returned to our screens.

Although no spoilers were imposed upon me, I had gotten mixed reactions from different sources as to whether Picard was good or not. My few Trekkie friends all liked it, but online, while mostly positive, there were some loud dissenting voices. From these voices I heard cries of ‘wokeness’ from the anti-woke, anti-snowflake brigade who appear to moan about everything. Now, while I do consider 90% of ‘woke’ claims as silly, I do understand the basis in which they are formed and, occasionally the claim has some merit. So, I was ready to catch this overt ‘wokeness’ the moaners were banging on about.

So, without ruining the story at all, let me tell you that Jean Luc Picard goes on a mission and meets people. Some of these people become the main characters of the series. It just so happens that approximately 50% of the main cast are female. This is literally the only thing I can think of that the moaners would consider ‘woke’. This is not ‘woke’, this is just normal representation. Nothing more, nothing less.

In terms of our main characters, we of course have the beloved Picard. I honestly can’t tell you how nice it was to see the big man on screen again. It truly was like seeing an old friend. And that is from somebody who only watched Star Trek: The Next Generation for the first time in 2020. Picard is back to his wily and ethical best and I really don’t need to tell you about anybody else.

My favourite scenes are some of the super feel-good scenes that if I explain any further it will totally ruin the moment. Put it this way, there are scenes that make me more than excited about the prospect of Season 2.

One of my favourite things about the show in general is that it does a good job of subtly including some classic TNG cinematography into a modern production.

If I was going to complain at anything, it is that Kirk (William Shatner) hasn’t gotten his own series yet.

So, to sum up this less than informative review I am just going to tell you to watch it, especially if you’re a Trekkie. If you’re not, but you recognise the man Picard, you may enjoy seeing our old friend. Additionally, for all those individuals from Mirfield, West Yorkshire, the home of our captain Patrick Steward, support your man and get watching Picard.

Rating

Visual: 7/10

Narrative: 7/10

Overall: 7/10

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started